When an asset is uploaded to Asset Bank it can / will be submitted for approval (depending on the uploader’s group folder permissions) and enter into a workflow.
The default workflow means you can decide if a particular user group can upload with approval (instead of uploading and content going live immediately). That approval can be completed by an admin user, though you can also delegate this to another group of users instead. Assets can:
- Be approved and then go live
- Be sent back to the uploader with some comments - e.g. "Please can you colour correct this image and then re-submit"
- Just be deleted by the approver
The majority of instances will happily make use of the default workflow that comes setup with the standard installation, shown in the diagram below:
There are three parts to a workflow:
= State: A position in the workflow visible to a defined set of users
= Transition: A movement between two states
= Alert: A notification sent to a user or group of users when a state is transitioned
Beyond the default workflow, further configuration of the workflows available to an Asset Bank can be adjusted to include as many states, transitions and alerts as required before an asset reaches the Approved state.
The system can also be configured to have multi-stage workflows (assets visit multiple approval stages before becoming live on the system) or multiple workflows (assets follow different approval paths depending on the folders they are added to). Rejections in any of these workflow configurations can be used to send the asset to any previous state (not exclusively the preceding one).
Assets in the workflow are visible to users through their Approval page depending on what state they are in.
Assets in the Approved state are considered to have left the workflow, they are live in the system and subject to the permissions that have been configured for your Asset Bank’s groups, folders and users.
Asset Bank also supports having different workflows entirely for different folders. For instance an Asset being uploaded to a ‘Marketing’ folder could follow a completely different approval process than one being uploaded to an ‘Internal’ folder. This is configured by selecting the workflow for a folder from the Admin > Folders > edit page
If you'd like changes to the default workflow, or to create Multi-Stage and/or Multiple Workflows, get in touch with your Customer Success Manager who will be happy to discuss your requirements and provide a quote.