The Approve Items page enables a user with 'Approval' permissions to review, approve and reject assets which have been submitted to them for approval by users who have "upload with approval" (UWA) permissions.
NB: An approver may also have a defined list of Folders / Access Levels which they are allowed to approve assets for.
When a UWA user uploads an asset it goes into a 'requires approval' state and the users who have permission to approve the uploaded asset are notified by email that there is an asset awaiting approval.
The approver can then visit the Approve Items section and see a list of all the items that are waiting approval. Items are split out into separate tabs for uploads, edits and downloads, and within each section are organised by user.
If the user has the ability to approve assets for more than one workflow then a selector will be displayed at the top of the Approve Items page to enable them to select the workflow that they would like to see un-approved items for.
The user can click the checkbox for each asset that they want to act on before clicking one of the action buttons (Approve, Reject & Discard, Reject for Resubmit). Choosing the Reject for Resubmit action will give the user the opportunity to enter an optional message that will be sent back to the original user.
If the HTML5 slideshow is enabled then there is an alternate view for selecting assets for approval: 'Full-screen selection view'. This allows the user to page through a large preview of each asset and choose whether to add that asset to the current selection. Having selected a number of assets they can 'Continue with selected' to return to the approve items page (with their selection in tact) allowing them to choose an approval action to perform. Note that full-screen selection view does not currently support video or audio assets.
There is also the option of batch updating the assets pending approval for the workflow in question. The user clicks on the link "start a new batch update" to view the items that are awaiting approval: they can update, approve or delete each one in turn. Likewise, the user can perform a bulk update on the assets to approve or edit in one go.
Purging Old Download Approval Requests
If this feature is enabled a link will appear for admin users on the 'Downloads' tab of the 'Approvals' which reads 'Purge old requests'
When run this purge will remove all items (assets) from users' lightboxes that meet the following conditions:
- items that have been approved for download more than X days ago but have not been downloaded by the user.
- items that have been rejected for download more than X days ago
- items that are not in a shared lightbox
The system will also remove all lightboxes that are empty because all of the assets were removed in the purge. It will not remove lightboxes that were already empty and it won't remove the users' default lightbox.
To enable this feature set 'purge-download-approval-requests-days' setting to the number you wish for X above. To disable this feature set to 0.