From the Groups page, click the 'Folder Permissions' link next to one of the groups to view and modify the folder permissions for that group. If your system is set up to use access levels and categories, this option may instead be labelled 'Access Level Permissions'.
This takes you to a page displaying the current permissions configuration for that group relating to all folders in the system.
The various permissions you can set are defined as follows:
View and download:
None: users in this group cannot view assets in this folder, unless the assets are also in a folder that the user does have permission to see.
View: users in this group can see assets in this folder. They cannot download, add or edit assets in this folder.
Download requiring approval: users in this group can request approval to download assets in this folder. If approval is granted, by an admin user or approver user, they can then download the assets.
Download: users in this group can download assets in this folder without requesting permission. Selecting this option will automatically select the 'Download copies of original files' option from the Advanced Permissions section. You can uncheck that option if you don't want your users to be able to download the original asset files.
- Download and approve others: users in this group will be able to approve downloads for assets in the relevant folders. If these users also have 'Receives Alerts' ticked in their profile, then they will receive an email alert when approval is needed. Note, if you do not have any groups configured to approve uploads or downloads then Admin users will fulfil this role. If you set up a group to handle this, then Admin users will not be notified via email.
Advanced download: if this is checked then users in this group will see the ‘Advanced Download' tab. This includes the ability to download a copy of the original file, re-size or crop before download. Uncheck this if you want to hide this tab from users in this group, for example if you want them to be able to download only predefined sizes from the ‘Quick Download' tab.
Download original files: if this is checked then users in this group will see the ‘Download original' button on the Download page, i.e. they will be able to download a copy of the original source file. By default this will be set for groups who have download permissions.
Requires approval for high-res: if this is checked the users in this group will require permission from an admin user before they can download a high-resolution version of the asset (assuming the asset is an image). If there are multiple nested high-resolution usage types for the asset, granting the user approval for high-res will automatically allow them to download all of the nested high-resolution usage types.
Upload, edit and delete:
Upload requiring approval: users in this group can add assets to this folder, however the items have to be checked and approved by an admin or approver user before they are visible to non-admin users.
Upload without approval: users in this group can upload assets to this folder, without the need for approval, i.e. the asset will be live immediately.
Edit requiring approval: users in this group can edit (but not delete) assets in this folder. This creates a new version that needs to be approved by the relevant admin or approver user before it replaces the existing asset.
- Edit without approval: users in this group can edit (but not delete) assets in this folder without the need for approval.
Delete: users in this group can delete assets in this folder.
Upload, Edit, Delete, Approve: users in this group can upload, edit and delete without the need for approval. They can also approve assets that have been uploaded, edited or have been requested for download (in this folder). This permission is useful if you want to have users that can approve assets but to whom you do not want to grant full administrator rights.
In the example below, there are 6 folders in the system.
In this example we want any assets in the 'Stock Images' folder to be downloadable by any logged in user as long as it is approved by an admin user. To achieve this we simply set the download permission for that folder to 'download with approval'.
Opening your Asset Bank up to the public
If you want users to be able to access your Asset Bank without having to register and log in then you will need to change the permissions of the *Public group:
If you the *Public group has permission to view at least one folder then users coming to the site will see the home page without having to log in. You cannot set upload permissions for the *Public group because a user must be registered to be able to add an asset to the system.
For example, if you grant *Logged in users permission to download and give a new group called 'Restricted' permission to only download after approval, then users in that group will inherit the ability to download from the *Logged in users and will override the permission of the extra group.
Controlling asset privacy
Setting appropriate access permissions to the different Folders in your Asset Bank is a key way of controlling the privacy of your assets. Other Group-based permission options such as Attribute Exclusions can provide an additional level of control where necessary. For example, you may choose to set an automatic expiry date for all of your images that contain people, either as a flat date (e.g. "3 years from upload" or as a specified value based on a consent form).