When turning this feature off you will lose the 'People' attribute and the data held within. However, before this happens we can can port this data to a new 'People' attribute to retain your existing name tags prior to the deactivation of Facial Recognition.
The steps for this are as follows:
1) We will create a new 'People' attribute of type 'Option list'. When doing this the following boxes will be ticked to ensure functional parity with the existing attribute:
2) We will then use Metadata Export followed by Metadata Import to populate this new attribute with the existing 'People' values.
3) We will use configuration options in Admin > Attributes to ensure this attribute appears in all the relevant places (as per the old attribute), e.g. on the advanced search page, in the filter bar, etc.
4) We will use Admin > Groups (attribute visibility) to ensure the people who could see the names data before can continue to do so.
5) We will review Admin > Asset Types and ensure the new attribute is on for the relevant types.
Once completed and spot checked, we will deactivate the Facial Recognition Feature.