When users register or view their profile, they will have the opportunity of subscribing to any of the marketing groups that have been set up (and if applicable, are available in their chosen language). They will see a list of all the marketing groups, and will be able to check a checkbox against each one in order to subscribe. They can then unsubscribe at a later time by unselecting any of the checkboxes on their profile page.
On the Marketing Groups admin page, all the current marketing groups are listed, and for each the number of currently subscribing users is shown.
Each of the existing groups can be edited or deleted, and new groups can also be added.
Once marketing groups have been set up, they can be used to find users when sending marketing emails, or when sharing a lightbox.
Adding/Editing Marketing Groups
To create a new marketing group click the 'Add a new group' link on the Marketing Groups admin page.
You must provide a name for each marketing group. In addition you may provide a description in order to explain why users might want to subscribe or what to expect.
Each group has a notes field that is not shown to non-admin users. You can use this to record additional information about the group, for instance information about the last email that was sent to the group.
If the application is set up for more than one language, you will be given the opportunity of entering the name and description in each language. Unlike many other translatable items, marketing groups in alternative languages do not receive data from the English version. If the name field for an alternative language version is left blank, the group will not be shown to users who have selected that language.
If a marketing group is required for an alternative language, but not for the English language, you may select the 'Hidden in default language' checkbox.